Spaghetti Dinner, Silent Auction, Special Olympics and Softball

March 27, 2007 at 7:13 pm (blogging, Education, Educational Leadership, Elementary, school administration, Thornebrooke)

I am a little late on on my blog in regards to writing about Thornebrooke. Friday was our annual Spaghetti Dinner and Silent Auction. Saturday was a day for our Autistic Students to participate in the Special Olympics. Sunday was the weekly softball game of Thornebrooke employees – we played Freedom Middle.

Spaghetti Dinner and Silent Auction – What an evening. Thornebrooke was hopping on Friday night. Parents, students and staff members packed the lobby and cafeteria to eat dinner and raise over $7K for Thornebrooke Elementary. Our classrooms put together baskets that were auctioned off that had “tons” of their theme items. I was more than impressed. I was WOWED!!!! That doesn’t happen often. This was a great evening to meet the parents and vice versa. I had 3 items for auction – I was blessed that all 3 sold. Yahoo!!!

Special Olympics – All I can say is “what a day!” I have never been to a Special Olympics and I truly did not know what I was missing. It was great to see our athletes compete against other students from around Orlando. I took my son and it was awesome to see him interact with the autistic students at Thornebrooke.

Softball – Our team was undermanned and then down 8 runs after 2 innings, but the team came together to push the game into extra innings. In the bottom of the extra inning (7th inning?), I led off the inning with a triple – Yahoo!!! The next batter up (Latoya) knocked me in!!! Thornebrooke is still undefeated.

GO BARRACUDAS

Leave a Reply

