First Two Days @ Thornebrooke

March 20, 2007 at 4:56 pm (blogging, Education, Educational Leadership, Elementary, High School, Middle School, principals, school, school administration, teachers, Thornebrooke)

Wow!! What a first two days. While I officially started one day before Spring Break, I have felt that Monday and Tuesday were really my first 2 days. I have spent most of these 2 days doing a little bit of everything (except eating). I have really focused on meeting teachers and asking them their intent for next year – are they coming back to Thornebrooke or possibly looking elsewhere. The good news is that the majority of the teachers that I have met with have a desire and a personal tie to Thornebrooke. The passon that comes from each teacher has been inspiring. I have then asked them a series of questions….

1. What has worked well at TES in 06-07?
2. What did not work well at TES in 06-07?
3. What suggestions would you make to improve TES in 07-08?
4. Is there anything in your classroom that you need to be successful in 07-08?
5. What can I do to assist you for the remainder of the school year and beyond?

The responses have been amazing and the insight that I have gained of Thornebrooke has been deep. I almost feel as though I have been at TES all school year – except I don’t know all of the teachers names 😦

I have also spent a lot of time working on our 07-08 School Year Budget. A lot that I have learned in these one-on-one meetings will guide me as I work through the budget process.

Meeting the students has been AWESOME!!! While I cannot say I have a favorite grade level, I have enjoyed getting to know the 4th graders. Thornebrooke is 5 years old and these students are the ones that opened the school as the first Kindergarten class. They will also be the very first 6 year class to come through the Thornebrooke halls. What an accomplishment!!! I know they have seen some changes over the past 5 years.

I have a great network of parents. I have enjoyed meeting each one. I will have a difficult time remembering names, I will get better.

Friday is our big Spaghetti Dinner and Silent Auction. I am being auctioned off. Hopefully, I will be able to bring in a good $500 or more.

Until nextime,
Principal Kendrick

Leave a Reply

