My First Day @ Thornebrooke Elementary

March 8, 2007 at 6:46 pm (blogging, children, Education, Educational Leadership, Elementary, High School, kids, Middle School, Parents, personal, principals, school, school administration)

Today started very early for me as my son woke up at 3:30 AM. I couldn’t go back to sleep, so I decided to get to Thornebrooke rather early for my first day as Principal. I arrived at 5 AM. Ironically, I could not find my password for the alarm and I set the alarm off. It was nice to sit down at my cpu and not have any interuptions for about an hour or so. At 9 AM, I was formally introduced to all of the students over the school news. I let the students know that I would be around later on that day to meet them face to face. Sadly, I did not get to all of the classes. I missed all of 5th grade and a few 4th grade. I will have to finish up after spring break. I am shocked at all of my emails I received. I did not go in my office for about 5 hours. When I returned, I had almost 75 emails. I will need to get a blackberry ASAP. Hopefully by the time we get back from Spring Break, I will have one. I was able to meet many parents today – moms and dads. It was great to meet the parents of the Thornebrooke Community. They are raising great children. Towards the end of the day, I was able to give out ice cream to all of the students for their hard work on testing. It took a lot of will power, but I only had one ice cream sandwich. At the end of the day, I had 2 meetings. 1 with the ESE teachers and 1 with members of the Leadership Team. Both meetings went very well.

There will be a lot of work to do. I will need to begin right away on balance between students, parents, teachers, community members and the work that will be expected of me.

I am excited to have 3 days to get caught up on work and organizing my office.

When school starts back, I will begin working with teachers on the 07-08 budget. I hope to get a little insight into each teacher and their expectations for next school year.

2 Comments

  1. jdogrules said,

    go KENTUCKY

  2. jdogrules said,

    i mean go Georgia and Duke

Leave a Reply

